With the sale of Lucasfilm to Disney in October of 2012, it seemed to many that it was only a matter of time before the comic license was brought back to Marvel Comics. Marvel has been under the Disney banner since August of 2009, and fans knew it would make sense for Disney to use their own comic book publisher. And so in early 2014, Dark Horse announced that it would no longer be producing Star Wars titles after the end of the year, and that Marvel Comics, would once again helm the space-fantasy franchise!

Not only would January 2015 "welcome home" Star Wars to Marvel Comics, but this time out, all of the stories they tell would be part of the new, and revised canon. As a concerted effort between all the licensees since September, 2014, all stories told from the franchise, whether in book, comic, video game or film, will all be part of one larger continuity. What came before (from Marvel, Dark Horse, Del Rey, etc) would no longer be considered canon. It's still too early to tell how this will shake out, but so far the stories they are telling are definitely top-notch. And no, Spider-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy won't be making appearances any time soon!

Marvel Comics Timeline

(between Episode III & IV)
Kanan-The Last Padawan

(between Episode IV & VI)
Princess Leia
Star Wars (2015)
Darth Vader
Vader Down

(between Episode VI & VII)
Shattered Empire

Epic Collection
Original Marvel Collection

Back To Comic Books | Back to Photo Archive