Posted by Liam on August 25, 2021 at 09:08 AM CST
Hello, Rebelscum fans! Join us this week for a batch of articles on the Republic Commando game and its subsequent tie-in games. Make sure to check back to our “Expand Your Mind” base article to understand the game’s story, its history, and how it changed the Star Wars universe through its clone perspective. Bobby’s merchandising videos will explore some of the best collectible items related to Republic Commando, and we’ll be thinking about how we’d like to see Republic Commando adapted in our “Force Casting” segment and we’ll highlight some key characters with our “Character Profile.”

Today, with our “Timeline Breakdown” we’ll be looking at how Republic Commando fits into the Star Wars canon. While like most projects made pre-Disney it is now considered non-canon, the entire Clone Wars era timeline was vastly changed when Dave Filoni’s The Clone Wars series launched in 2008. As we covered in a previous week, the era of Clone Wars content released between the releases of Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith was quite different.

Delta Squad themselves are now part of canon thanks to a brief appearance in The Clone Wars season 3 episode “Witches of the Mist,” but Filoni’s projects have focused on new Clone Commando characters such as Captain Gregor. However, fans looking for more adventures from these characters will want to check out the excellent novel series by Karen Traviss.

Traviss wrote several novels that explored the relationship between the clones throughout the war, their involvement in key battles, and how they are impacted by Order 66. In addition to Delta Squad, the books introduced Omega Squad and explored a different interpretation of the Mandalorians than how they’re portrayed in The Clone Wars and The Mandalorian.

Republic Commando Novels

  • Republic Commando: Hard Contact (2004) - The first novel follows Omega Squad as they team up with Jedi Padawan Etain Tur-Mukan to destroy a Sepratist laboratory.
  • Republic Commando: Triple Zero (2006) - Omega Squad and Delta Squad join forces with select ARC Troopers to hunt down Separatists plotting a terrorist attack on Coruscant.
  • Republic Commando: True Colors (2007) - Two years into the war, a mission to Mygeeto exposes the clone characters to their heritage on Mandalore, which has been shunned from the galaxy.
  • Republic Commando: Order 66 (2009) - You guessed it- this is a pretty emotional book that explores the devastating impact that Palpatine’s orders have on the clones. It’s particularly impactful in the book because of Tur-Mukan’s personal relationship with a member of Omega Squad.
  • Imperial Commando: 501st (2009) - The first post-Clone Wars set Republic Commando novels shows the clones adjusting to their new responsibilities under the Empire. Unfortunately, the sequel Imperial Commando 2 was cancelled after Traviss left the Star Wars universe.

What do you think? Did you read the Republic Commando novels? Are you a fan of their interpretations of the clones and Mandalorians? Let us know in the forums here, and as always, may the Force be with you!
Related Articles
May 1, 2022  The Black Series Gaming Greats RC-1138 (Boss) Review
April 15, 2022  Battlefront II Playthrough
August 29, 2021  Force Casting - Republic Commando!
August 28, 2021  Watch: Republic Commando Playthrough
August 27, 2021  Character Profile - Delta Squad!
August 26, 2021  Watch: Republic Commando Toy Overview!
August 23, 2021  Expand Your Mind - Republic Commando!
October 30, 2007  Jedi Journals Bookshelf: Republic Commando: True Colors
July 13, 2007  New Mystery Republic Commando
January 9, 2007  Photo Archive: Republic Commando Delta Squad
March 2, 2006  Photo Archives: Scorch (Republic Commando)
February 19, 2005  Republic Commando Review