Posted by Liam on May 4, 2022 at 11:48 AM CST
Hey there, Rebelscum fans! This week on the site, we’re looking into the Star Wars: Rebels animated series, and how it bridged the gap between the end of The Clone Wars and the new era of the franchise under Disney. Make sure to read our “Expand Your Mind” article first to read all about the show’s characters and setting, but stay tuned throughout the week for more Rebels content. We’ll be adding additional articles, insights, videos, spotlights, and information on the best merchandising options that collectors have.

One of the most exciting developments on the four seasons of Rebels was the inclusion of the fan-favorite character Grand Admiral Thrawn, who had first appeared in Timothy Zahn’s beloved The Thrawn Trilogy novels in 1991-1993. Thrawn is one of the rare Expanded Universe characters who has risen through the ranks and become iconic, even for casual fans. You would commonly find Thrawn on lists of the greatest Star Wars villains of all-time, regardless of whether or not he appeared in live-action.

The Thrawn Trilogy is the primary adventure featuring the character, but the elusive Chiss bad guy has had many appearances throughout the Expanded Universe and new Legends continuity. Here are some additional Thrawn books that Star Wars readers will want to check out.

  • The Hand of Thrawn Duology (1997-1998) - One of the last Star Wars book series before the release of The Phantom Menace, Timothy Zahn’s two novels Specters of the Past and Vision of the Future closed the Galactic Civil War. Luke Skywalker and his wife Mara Jade contemplate their adventures across all the novels, including their encounters with Thrawn.

  • Dark Forces: Soldier for the Empire (1997) - In this earlier novel, Thrawn has a supporting appearance during his days as a lower-ranked officer in the Imperial navy.

  • Survivor’s Quest (2004) - A continuation of the Outbound Flight storyline that had been developed in both The Thrawn Trilogy and The Hand of Thrawn Duology, Timothy Zahn’s next novel explored a mission by Luke and Mara Jade to investigate the mysterious Jedi ship that Thrawn had decimated.

  • Outbound Flight (2006) - While The Thrawn Trilogy included a backstory that referenced the origins of Outbound Flight, the ship’s original mission was explored in this prequel-era novel. The book shows the first encounter between Thrawn and one of the main villains of Heir to the Empire, the crazed Jedi Master Jorus C'baoth.

  • Choices of One (2011) - Zahn’s epic novel set between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back features a plethora of characters, including Thrawn, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Han Solo, Mara Jade, and Thrawn’s nemesis Nuso Esva.

  • The Second Thrawn Trilogy (2017-2019) - Zahn’s new novel trilogy brought Thrawn into the new canon and showed the events that surrounded his appearances on Rebels.

  • Thrawn Ascendency Trilogy (2020-2021) - Another new trilogy from Zahn, this prequel series showed Thrawn’s rise within the Chiss Ascendancy during the Clone Wars era.

What do you think, Rebelscum fans? What are some of your favorite Thrawn appearances? What would you like to see him do in Ashoka? Let us know in the forums, and as always, may the Force be with you!

Check out merch!

Be sure to follow us on all of our social media platforms:
Related Articles
May 7, 2022  Star Wars: Rebels Toy Overview
May 6, 2022  Character Profile - Grand Admiral Thrawn
May 5, 2022  Gentle Giant Rebels Captain Rex Deluxe Mini Bust Review
May 2, 2022  Expand Your Mind - Rebels